Dr. Paul Pepe

Paul E. Pepe, MD, MPH, FAEMS, MCCM, MACP, FACEP, FRCP, FSSEM – Dallas County (TX) EMS/Public Safety Medical Director – Adjunct Professor of Management, Policy & Community Health, University of Texas Health Sciences Ctr, Houston, TX; – Voluntary Professor of Surgery, the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Miami, FL; – EMS Medical Director for Research, Education, and Special Operations for Palm Beach, Broward and Brevard Counties (FL) and numerous other south Florida municipalities including Palm Beach, West Palm Beach, Coral Springs, Davie, Parkland, FL – Past Professor of Surgery, Medicine, Pediatrics, Public Health and Chair, Emergency Medicine and Regional Director, Disaster/Event Preparedness, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School & Parkland Emergency-Trauma Center, Dallas, TX Among dozens of daily tasks, Dr. Pepe leads the so-called “Eagles” global-alliance. For 5-decades, he has pioneered many of our advances in resuscitation-medicine/EMS and EMS Education. A critical-care clinician-scientist turned “street doctor” in Seattle (1970s), he became the first full-time EMS medical director (Houston/1980s-early 90s), forging the EMS subspecialty, dramatically increasing survival rates, and producing landmark research. Serving as Pennsylvania’s Commonwealth Emergency Medical Director (late 1990s), he then became Dallas County’s Medical Director (2000) and Emergency Medicine Professor/Chair at UT Southwestern/Parkland Emergency-Trauma Center Co-founding NAEMSP (1984), becoming its first national President-Elect, and launching the NAEMSP Medical Directors course (1989), he now facilitates rapid boots-on-the-ground global informational-exchange through the Eagles becoming NAEMT “Medical-Director-of-the-Year” (2020) following his pivotal role during the early months of COVID. During a lifetime-achievement award ceremony (American College of Emergency Physicians/2005) presented in Washington, DC by the U.S. Surgeon General, he was already monikered “the most accomplished EMS physician of our generation”. Most would echo that same attribution today as he continues to garner prestigious best-scientific-paper awards annually from numerous professional societies, including SCCM (2020,2021,2022,2023); WSAEM/May 2022; ACEP/October 2022; EMS 2022 Congress (Glasgow, May 2022) and several others.